Bhutan is a landlocked country hidden in the Eastern Himalayas bounded by China in the north and India in the south, east and west. Bhutan is a small country with an area of 38394 square

kilometers. In-fact, the entire country is mountainous with elevation ranging from 180 meters above sea level in the south and more than 7400 meters in the north.
Bhutan can be divided into three major geographic zones. The three major geographic zones are the southern zone, the central zone and the northern zones.
In the southern zone, it is hot and humid with dense tropical forests with an average temperature of 20 degree centigrade.
The central zone lies within the 2000 meters to 3500meters above the sea level with semi tropical forest, most of the region is alpine. It is again divided into three regions. They are

  • Western Bhutan
  • Central Bhutan and
  • Eastern Bhutan.

The northern zones forms the part of the Great Himalayas stretches west to east from an altitude 6500 meters to 7400 meters.